2023 Japan 3 weeks – The Short Version

https://photos.app.goo.gl/WpBD6Yr5xYUBEgQc7

Here are SOME of the same photos as in link above:

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2023 Japan 3 weeks – The Short Version

  1. Tim Lockfeld lockfeld certified arborist says:

    Bro Jim or Jimbro,
    Some odd and beautiful photos. I give you happiness of your artistry. Especially liked all the wood supports. I am scheming more about supporting the upper floor as I am milling much. Supports are no problem but as I am limited to 16’6” the cross members(?) which need to be close to 20 feet are problematic. I do have a 25’ beam I milled with my Alaskan mill that I think I can split with the mill if I turn it after reaching my terminus. I will have to pull quite a few wall pieces to get the top piece on.

    I’m going to bolt 15x 3 1/2 beams up against the 2×4’s on either side of the windows. The bottoms need to be notched twice as they sit on 2×4’s and 4” on raised concrete a couple inches wider that runs both sides of the kitchen space.

    Along with those I have six 20’
    2×4’s that I will use to double and attach with hangars and perhaps some artistic braces as seen in your photos. I will need to double the single vertical 2×4’s to attach the hangars.

    Waddaya think?

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. svvivacia@yahoo.com says:

    That was some trip! Thanks for all the interesting photos. Alan

Leave a comment